June 19, 2024

Barack Obama has shared his annual checklist of his favourite songs of the 12 months, with Large Thief (“Vampire Empire”), Mitski (“My Love Mine All Mine”), and Beyoncé and Kendrick Lamar (“America Has a Drawback”) among the many picks. Additionally featured within the former president’s 28-song choice are Indigo De Souza, Megan Thee Stallion, Burna Boy and 21 Savage, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Zach Bryan and Kacey Musgraves, Dave and Central Cee, 6lack, Brent Faiyaz, Tems, Karol G and Shakira, and Stormzy and Fredo, amongst others. See the total checklist under.

“Listed below are a few of my favourite songs from this 12 months,” Obama wrote on social media. “Let me know if there are any artists or songs I ought to take a look at.” One notable absence is Boygenius, whose music “Not Sturdy Sufficient” made Obama’s 2023 summer time playlist. Lucy Dacus quote-tweeted the choice with the caption “Battle legal :(”

Image may contain: Barack Obama, Electronics, Headphones, Headset, Human, Person, Head, and Face

The Presidential Suite: A Look Again at Obama’s Musical Milestones

Karol G & Shakira: “TQG”
Zach Bryan: “I Bear in mind All the things” [ft. Kacey Musgraves]
Dave & Central Cee: “Sprinter”
6lack: “Since I Have a Lover”
Megan Thee Stallion: “Cobra”
Blondshell – “Joiner”
Alé Araya: “Midnight Gospel” [ft. Joseph Chilliams]
Beyoncé: “America Has a Drawback” [ft. Kendrick Lamar]
Tyla: “Water”
Allison Russell: “The Returner”
Davido: “Unavailable” [ft. Musa Keys]
Mitski – “My Love Mine All Mine”
Burna Boy: “Sittin’ on High of the World” [ft. 21 Savage]
Large Thief – “Vampire Empire”
Indigo De Souza – Youthful & Dumber”
Stormzy: “Poisonous Trait” [ft. Fredo]
John Summit & Hayla: “The place You Are”
Yng Lvcas & Peso Pluma – “La Bebe (Remix)”
Victoria Monét – “On My Mama”
Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – “Solid Iron Skillet”
Brent Faiyaz – “WY@”
Asake & Olamide – “Amapiano”
Teddy Swims – “Lose Management”
Rita Wilson & Keith City – “Loopy Love”
Gabe Lee – “Drink The River”
Lenny Kravitz: “Street to Freedom (From the Netflix Movie ‘Rustin’)”
Jon Batiste – “It By no means Went Away”
Tems – “Me & U”

article image

The 100 Greatest Songs of 2023

Supply hyperlink