October 1, 2023


From Eddie Shore to David Pastrnak, each period of Bruins hockey was represented with a couple of acquainted names.

Derek Sanderson (left) Bobby Orr (center) and Phil Esposito had been all chosen to the Bruins “Historic 100” checklist. Frank O’Brien / The Boston Globe

The 2023-24 marketing campaign can be a particular one for the Bruins, as they’ll develop into the third NHL franchise — and the primary in america — to mark their a centesimal season.

On Tuesday, the Bruins unveiled one of many many centennial-season undertakings which were within the works over the summer time by asserting the “Historic 100” — a listing of probably the most legendary gamers in franchise historical past.

The “Historic 100,” which was voted on by an independent committee of journalists and media members, historians, and members of the hockey group, contains a pool of gamers that span throughout the Bruins’ prolonged historical past. 

Every committee member was requested to vote for who they consider are the 100 most legendary Boston Bruins gamers of the group’s first century. Their votes had been aggregated to create a remaining checklist often called the “Historic 100”.

From Eddie Shore to David Pastrnak, nearly each period of Boston’s hockey historical past is represented with a couple of acquainted names.

Right here is the total “Historic 100” checklist, which is sorted alphabetically:

F Jason Allison (1997-01)

D Don Awrey (1963-73)

F P.J. Axelsson (1997-09)

F Ace Bailey (1968-73)

F Marty Barry (1929-35)

F Bobby Bauer (1935-42, 1945-47, 1951-52)

F Patrice Bergeron (2003-23)

D Leo Boivin (1954-66)

D Ray Bourque (1979-00)

D Johnny Boychuk (2018-14)

G Frank Brimsek (1938-43, 1945-49)

F Johnny Bucyk (1957-78)

F Herb Cain (1939-46)

F Wayne Cashman (1964-65, 1967-83)

D Zdeno Chara (2006-20)

G Gerry Cheevers (1965-72, 1975-80)

D/F Dit Clapper (1927-47)

F Roy Conacher (1938-42, 1945-46)

F Invoice Cowley (1935-47)

D Jack Crawford (1937-50)

F Keith Crowder (1980-89)

G Byron Dafoe (1997-02)

D Gary Doak (1965-70, 1972-81)

F Ted Donato (1991-98, 2003-04)

F Woody Dumart (1935-42, 1945-54)

F Phil Esposito (1967-75)

D Andrew Ference (2006-13)

D Fernie Flaman (1944-51, 1954-61)

G Gilles Gilbert (1973-80)

D Ted Inexperienced (1960-72)

D Lionel Hitchman (1925-34)

F Ken R. Hodge (1967-76)

D Flash Hollett (1936-44)

F Nathan Horton (2010-13)

F Bronco Horvath (1957-61)

F Craig Janney (1987-92)

G Eddie Johnston (1962-73)

F Stan Jonathan (1975-83)

F Steve Kasper (1980-89)

F Phil Kessel (2006-09)

D Gord Kluzak (1982-90)

F David Krejci (2007-21, 2022-23)

D Torey Krug (2012-20)

F Leo Labine (1951-61)

G Reggie Lemelin (1987-93)

F Ken Linseman (1984-90)

F Milan Lucic (2007-15, 2023-Current)

F Fleming Mackell (1952-60)

F Brad Marchand (2009-Current)

F Don Marcotte (1965, 1969-82)

D Charlie McAvoy (2017-Current)

F Don McKenney (1954-62)

F Johnny McKenzie (1966-72)

F Peter McNab (1976-84)

F Rick Middleton (1976-88)

D Mike Milbury (1975-87)

D/F Doug Mohns (1953-64)

G Andy Moog (1987-93)

F Glen Murray (1991-95, 2001-08)

F Cam Neely (1986-96)

D Mike O’Connell (1980-86)

F Willie O’Ree (1958, 1960-61)

F Terry O’Reilly (1972-85)

F Adam Oates (1992-97)

D Harry Oliver (1926-34)

D Bobby Orr (1966-76)

D Brad Park (1975-83)

F David Pastrnak (2014-Current)

F Barry Pederson (1980-86, 1991-92)

G Pete Peeters (1982-85)

F Johnny Peirson (1946-58)

D Invoice Quackenbush (1949-56)

G Tuukka Rask (2007-22)

F Jean Ratelle (1975-81)

F Mark Recchi (2009-11)

F Sergei Samsonov (1997-06)

F Derek Sanderson (1965-74)

F Ed Sandford (1947-55)

F Marc Savard (2006-11)

F Bobby Schmautz (1974-80)

F Milt Schmidt (1936-42, 1945-55)

D Dennis Seidenberg (2010-16)

F Gregg Sheppard (1972-78)

D Eddie Shore (1926-1939)

F Charlie Simmer (1984-87)

D Dallas Smith (1960-61, 1965-77)

D Rick Smith (1968-72, 1976-80)

F Fred Stanfield (1967-73)

F Vic Stasiuk (1955-61)

D Don Sweeney (1988-03)

G Tim Thomas (2002-03, 2005-12)

G Tiny Thompson (1928-1938)

F Joe Thornton (1997-05)

F Shawn Thornton (2007-14)

F Jerry Toppazzini (1952-54, 1956-64)

D Carol Vadnais (1972-75)

F Cooney Weiland (1928-32, 1935-39)

F John Wensink (1976-80)

D Glen Wesley (1987-94)

F Eddie Westfall (1961-72)

The Bruins did launch a couple of early choices on Friday, with the staff informing each Milan Lucic and Charlie McAvoy of their inclusion on the checklist at Warrior Ice Area. 

This is not going to be the lone checklist of all-time Bruins greats introduced by the staff and the unbiased committee. 

On Oct. 12, the Bruins will formally announce an “All-Centennial Crew,” with the committee tasked with figuring out the 20 gamers (12 forwards, 6 defensemen, 2 goaltenders) that can comprise the staff. 

There are fairly a couple of gamers who donned black-and-gold sweaters who earned simple appointments to the “All-Centennial Crew.” Nonetheless, anticipate a couple of surprises (and loads of discourse) when the staff is formally introduced subsequent month.