May 18, 2024

Crimson Sox

Pablo Sandoval was chosen by the Abu Dhabi Falcons throughout Monday’s Baseball United Draft.

Pablo Sandoval spent over two disastrous seasons in Boston earlier than finally getting designated for task. (AP Picture/Chris O’Meara)

A number of ex-Crimson Sox gamers are headed abroad subsequent month to play in a brand new baseball league set within the Center East and the Indian Subcontinent — together with a former All-Star who rapidly wore out his welcome in Boston.

The newly-formed Baseball United held its inaugural draft on Monday, with the four-team league choosing a number of former MLB stars to fill out their respective rosters.

In whole, 5 former Crimson Sox had been chosen over the 10-round draft, headlined by arguably the most important free-agent signing bust in franchise historical past in third baseman Pablo Sandoval.

Baseball United will initially be composed of 4 groups: the Mumbai Cobras, Karachi Monarchs, Dubai Wolves and Abu Dhabi Falcons. The league’s first occasion might be a showcase in Dubai that can characteristic two Baseball United All-Star groups taking part in a two-game collection on Nov. 24 and 25.

Listed below are the 5 former Crimson Sox gamers chosen in Monday’s draft:

3B Pablo Sandoval — Falcons (Spherical 1, Choose 4)

LHP Robbie Ross — Cobras (Spherical 2, Choose 12)

RHP Bartolo Colon — Monarchs (Spherical 2, Choose 16)

OF Alejandro De Aza — Falcons (Spherical 3, Choose 23)

OF Rusney Castillo — Falcons (Spherical 5, Choose 37)

Different former MLB gamers chosen in Monday’s draft embody Robinson Cano (Choose No. 6), Didi Gregorius (No. 3 decide), and Andrelton Simmons (Choose No. 8).

This new baseball enterprise already has the backing of many former MLB stars, with early traders together with Mariano Rivera, Felix Hernandez, and Barry Larkin. 

After his preliminary showcase in November, Baseball United plans to play a 65-game season in 2024, with the variety of franchises set to double to eight groups. At the very least half of these 65 video games might be held in Dubai, whereas the rest might be performed in Abu Dhabi and Doha, Qatar.